Chief Investment Officer - For the world's largest asset owners

ai-cio logo

For the world's largest asset owners

Subscribe to Chief Investment Officer Magazine

aiCIO Industry Innovation Awards

View the photo gallery

December 4, 2012 / The Ritz-Carlton, Battery Park, NY

For the third time in as many years, December brought aiCIO's much-lauded Industry Innovation Awards. Held in New York City, these Awards highlighted the most innovative and positive work being done for, and at, the world's largest pensions, endowments, foundations, and sovereign wealth funds.

The central questions of these Awards: What is innovation, and who is executing on it? To the aiCIO editorial team and the board of past asset managers and asset owners who advise us on these Awards, innovation means more than re-labeling old strategies. It means more than producing sub-par returns for above-par prices. At its core, it means matching new challenges with new ideas, for ridding the world of asset management of sacred cows and failed strategies. And it means results.

The Awards are split into two general categories: asset management/servicing, and asset owners. (Click here for winners from 2010 and 2011.)

Advisory Board Members
Rich Goldman, formerly of Guggenheim Investments
Dan Gallagher, formerly of Los Angeles' City Employees Retirement System
David Nixon, formerly of the Electronic Data Systems pension
Jay Vivian, formerly of the IBM Retirement System

Asset Owner Categories Include (winners in bold):

Foundation (2011 Winner: Ford Foundation)
Cargill Philanthropies (Shawn Wischmeier, CIO)
Conrad N. Hilton Foundation (Randy Kim, CIO)
Kresge Foundation (Robert Manilla, CIO)
Wellcome Trust (Danny Truell, CIO)

Endowment (2011 Winner: Wake Forest University)
Georgetown University (Michael Barry, CIO)
Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (Ashvin Chhabra, CIO)
Smithsonian Institution (Amy Chen, Director, Office of Investments)
University of Notre Dame (Scott Malpass, CIO)
University of Chicago (Mark Schmid, CIO)
University of Texas Investment Management Company (Bruce Zimmerman, CIO)
Washington University, St. Louis (Kim Walker, CIO)

Corporate Pension Plan Below $5 Billion (2011 Winner: Eastman Kodak)
BPF Schilders (John van Scheijndel, CIO at A&O Pension Services)
Brown Shoe Company (Mike Oberlander, SVP, General Council, and Corporate Secretary)
Motorola (Andy Steiner, Assistant Treasurer, Investments)
Rolls Royce North America (Mike Elliott, VP Financial Planning and Group Treasurer)
Smithfield Foods (Tim Dykstra, Treasurer)
Xerox (Carol McFate, CIO)

Corporate Pension Plan Above $5 Billion (2011 Winner: Boeing)
BP (Greg Williamson, CIO)
BT (Frank Naylor, Head of Strategy, BTPS Management)
CenturyLink (Kathy Lutito, CIO)
Exxon Mobil (Colin Kerwin, CIO)
General Motors (Walter Borst, CIO)
UTC (Robin Diamonte, CIO)
UPS (Brian Pellegrino, CIO)

Public Pension Plan Below $15 Billion (2011 Winner: MOSERS)
CERN Pension Fund (Theodore Economou, CEO)
Fairfax County Employees Retirement System (Larry Swartz, CIO)
London Pension Funds Authority (Mike Taylor, CEO)
New Mexico Educational Retirement Board (Bob Jacksha, CIO)
San Bernardino County Employees Retirement Association (Don Pierce, CIO)
San Diego County Employees Retirement Association (Lee Partridge, Portfolio Strategist)
Wyoming Retirement System (John Johnson, CIO)

Public Pension Plan Above $15 Billion (2011 Winner: CalSTRS)
ATP (Henrik Gade Jepsen, CIO)
Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (Mark Wiseman, CEO)
Florida State Board of Administration (Ash Williams, CIO)
Massachusetts Pension Reserve Investment Management (Steve Grossman, Chair and State Treasurer)
New Jersey Investment Division (Tim Walsh, CIO)
Teacher Retirement System of Texas (Britt Harris, CIO)
Wisconsin PERA (David Villa, CIO)

Sovereign Wealth Fund (2011 Winner: Alberta Investment Management Corporation)
Australian Future Fund (David Neal, CIO)
Government Investment Corporation, Singapore (Ng Kok Song, CIO)
New Zealand Superannuation (Adrian Orr, CEO)
Norges Bank Investment Management (Yngve Slyngstad, CEO)
State Oil Fund of Azerbaijan (Shahmar Movsumov, Executive Director)

Healthcare Organization (New Category)
Ascension Health (David Erickson, CIO)
Catholic Health East (Paul Klink, VP Treasury Services)
Cook Children's Health Care System (Apurva Mehta, Director of Investments)
Partners Health Care System (William Donovan, Treasurer)

Asset Management/Servicing Categories Include (winners):

Fixed-Income (US): Cutwater Asset Management
Fixed-Income (Global): Lazard Asset Management
Equities (US): Select Equity
Equities (Non-US): MFS Investment Management
Emerging Markets: Investec

Alternative Investments:

Private Equity: Blackstone (Special Mention: KKR, Apollo Global Management)
Hedge Fund: (Two Winners)
Citi Capital Introductions (Cap Intro)

Och-Ziff Capital Management Group (Management)
Real Estate: TIAA-CREF

Strategy & Tactics
Strategic Beta Management (includes risk-parity products): Invesco
Liability-Driven Investing: Legal & General Investment Management
Pension Risk Transfer: Prudential
Investment Outsourcing: Strategic Investment Group
Tactical Risk Management (includes tail-hedging products): (Two Winners)
Mcube Investment Technologies (Active Tactical)
Russell Investments (Passive Tactical)
FX: No Award Given

Transition Management: (Two Winners)
J.P. Morgan
Securities Lending: eSecLending
Custody (Master Trust/Global Custody): State Street
Custody (Asset Management Servicing): BNY Mellon
Consultant: Albourne Partners


Overall Pension/E&F-Focused Unit: Bridgewater Associates

Information on the methodology and reasoning behind each winner.

Sponsorship/Table Inquiries:

Noel d'Ablemont-Smith
Global Publisher, aiCIO
Asset International
Tel: +1 203-595-3178

General Inquiries:

Carol Popkins
Director, Conferences
Asset International
Tel: +1 203-595-3282


Sponsor list as of 11/8/2012 11:35:33 AM