Industry Innovation Awards

| New York Public Library

The tenth annual Innovation gala will again be held at the New York Public Library. Together with the asset-owning and managing community, Chief Investment Officer will highlight and celebrate the very best of institutional investing on December 12. Finalists and winners are chosen by the CIO editorial team in conjunction with an Advisory Board of CIOs. The CIO of the Year Award and NextGen award will also be announced during the award ceremony.

This year’s advisors include former award winners and CIOs: Chris Ailman of CalSTRS; Raphael Arndt of Australia’s Future Fund; Paul Ballard of Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Co.;  Harshal Chaudhari of IBM; Dan Chu of Sierra Club; Matt Clark of South Dakota Investment Council; Anne Dinneen of Hamilton College; Jonathan Grabel of LACERA; Rosalind Hewsenian of Helmsley Charitable Trust; David Holmgren of Hartford HealthCare; Robert  Hunkeler  of International Paper; Kim Lew of Carnegie Corp.; Allan Martin of NEPC; Sam Masoudi  of Wyoming Retirement System; Jacque  Millard of Intermountain Healthcare; Chad Myhre, Portfolio Manager of Hedge Funds and Domestic Equities, Public School and Education Employee Retirement System of Missouri (NextGeneration winner of 2018); Mansco Perry  of Minnesota State Board of Investment; Susan Ridlen of Eli Lilly; Anthony Waskiewicz of Mercy Health, St. Louis.

6:30 p.m. – Registration and Cocktails in Astor Hall (sponsored by Solovis)
7:30 p.m. – Dinner and Awards in the Celeste Bartos Forum
Following dinner, Winners Reception in Astor Hall (sponsored by Income Research & Management)

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Robin Diamonte

    Corporate Vice President and Chief Investment Officer , United Technologies Corporation

    Robin Diamonte, corporate vice president and chief investment officer responsible for overseeing United Technologies Corporation’s $66 billion in global retirement assets, will receive the Lifetime Achievement award at the tenth annual CIO Innovation Awards dinner. A brilliant fiduciary investor respected industry-wide for her acumen with both DB and DC plans, Diamonte embodies the values that drive much of the CIO community. For more details click here.

    Past winners include:

    2018 Lifetime Achievement Award: Mansco Perry, CIO and executive director of the $96 billion Minnesota State Board of Investment

    2017 Lifetime Achievement Award: Florida’s State Board of Administration (SBA) Ash Williams

    2016 Lifetime Achievement Award: Mark Schmid, CIO of University of Chicago

    2015 Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Dahl, the newly retired CIO of the Missouri State Employees’ Retirement System

    2014 Lifetime Achievement Award: Notre Dame’s Scott Malpass

    2013 Lifetime Achievement Award: the University of Texas Investment Management Co.’s Britt Harris

    2012 Lifetime Achievement Award: Strategic Investment Group’s Hilda Ochoa-Brillembourg

    2011 Lifetime Achievement Award: NISA Investment Advisors’ Jess Yawitz and Bill Marshall

We hope you can join us.

To request an invitation to attend (asset owners), contact Katie Campbell at  To learn more about hosting a table or sponsoring the event (asset managers), please contact Katie Bacon at or Carol Popkins at

Influential Investors Forum

December 12, 2019
Harvard Club

Contact Information

Sponsorship Information

Rob Reif (212) 217-6906

General Information

Carol Popkins (203) 461-0985