In Crowd of more than 300, 105 Leading Asset Owners Celebrate Nominees during CIO Innovation Awards

Celebration of an extraordinary year draws large, vibrant group of CIOs and leading investors.

Crowds of investors and CIOs jumped to their feet to applaud Lifetime Achievement Award winner Mansco Perry III, executive director and CIO of the Minnesota State Board of Investment, with two standing ovations on Thursday evening during CIO’s Innovation Awards gala at the glittery NYC Public Library.  TJ Carlson, CIO of the Texas Municipal Retirement System and longtime friend of Perry, spoke about his fruitful career. The State of Minnesota announced that due to his many accomplishments, Dec. 13 is now Mansco Perry III Day in the state.

Former NYC Pensions CIO Scott Evans, winner of the 2017 CIO of the Year award, knighted Chris Ailman of CalSTRS as 2018’s CIO of the Year before a crowd of more than 300, with 105 asset owners.

After a seven-member hotseat panel at CIO’s Influential Investors Forum at the Harvard Club moderated by David Holmgren, CIO of Hartford HealthCare, the audience was polled, and Chad Myhre, portfolio manager at  Missouri Teachers Retirement System, was voted the NextGen of the Year by CIOs and managers in attendance. Former Innovation Award winners Holmgren and Intermountain Healthcare CIO Jacque Millard presented the 2018 Healthcare award to Anthony Waskiewicz of Mercy Health, St. Louis.

Other winners are as follows:



David Holmgren (Hartford HealthCare)

Corporate Defined Benefit Pension Plan Above $15 Billion

Harshal Chaudhari (IBM)

Corporate Defined Benefit Pension Plan Below $15 Billion

Susan Ridlen (Eli Lilly)

Defined Contribution Plan

Bob Hunkeler (International Paper)


Anne Dinneen (Hamilton College)


Dan Chu / Michael Brune (Sierra Club)


Rosalind Hewsenian (Helmsley Charitable Trust)

Healthcare Organization

Anthony Waskiewicz (Mercy Health, St. Louis)

Public Defined Benefit Plan Below $15 Billion

Sam Masoudi (Wyoming Retirement System)

Public Defined Benefit Plan Between $15 Billion and $100 Billion 
Jonathan Grabel (LACERA)

Public Defined Benefit Plan Above $100 Billion

Chris Ailman (CalSTRS)

Sovereign Wealth Fund

Paul Ballard (Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Co.)


Allan Martin (NEPC)

Asset Management/Servicing Winners:

Fixed Income/Credit



JP Morgan Asset Management


PineBridge Investments

Private Equity

Warburg Pincus

Hedge Funds


Real Assets

Aberdeen Standard

Defined Contribution Strategies

Northern Trust


Goldman Sachs Asset Management

Corporate Strategies

Capital Group

Transition Management


Data & Technology

Backstop Solutions



Emerging Markets


Tags: ,