ATP, AXA, AP4 Among aiCIO European Innovation Award Nominees

Barclays, Bernische Pensionskasse, and BT Pension are some of those who have been shortlisted for aiCIO’s inaugural awards for Innovation in Europe.

(February 25, 2013) – The brightest and most forward-looking pension fund investors have made it onto the short list for aiCIO‘s first European Innovation Awards.

Following a two-month nomination period over Christmas, the aiCIO editorial team, along with an Advisory Board of past asset owners and consultants, selected nominees with two central questions in mind: What is innovation, and who is executing on it? Which asset owners are challenging the status quo, succeeding, and have the returns to show for it?

This is the first year that aiCIO will host European Innovation Awards. We have run global awards highlighting investment innovation since 2010. See a list of the nominees for last year’s global asset owner category, click here.

Winners in the European asset management and servicing categories were announced on Friday, and are available here.  The winners of the asset owner categories will be announced on May 15 at an awards dinner at London’s Simpsons-in-the Strand, to which all nominees are invited. For more information on the event, click here.

Asset Allocation Innovation

    – AP4 (SE)

    –  BT Pension Scheme (UK)

    –  Pension Corporation (UK)

    –  RMPI Railpen (UK)

    –  USS (UK)


Portfolio Construction Innovation

    –  AXA UK Group Pension Scheme (UK)

    –  Barclays Pension Fund (UK)

    –  KLM Pension funds (NL)

    –  PKA (DK)

    –  Sampension (DK)

    –  UWV (NL)


Risk Management Innovation

    –  ATP (DK)

    –  Aviva Staff Pension Fund (UK)

    –  PFZW (NL)

    –  West Midlands Integrated Transport Authority (UK)


Corporate/Industry Pension Scheme Below €5 Billion

    –  SAUL (UK)

    –  DENSO (UK)

    –  Royal Mail (UK)

    –  Vervoer (NL)


Corporate/Industry Pension Scheme Above €5 Billion

    –  ABP (NL)

    –  Rabobank Pension (NL)

    –  SPK (SE)

    –  Tesco Pension Fund (UK)


Public Pension Scheme Below €15 Billion

    –  Bernische Pensionskasse (CH)

    –  Environment Agency (UK)

    –  Lancashire County Council Pension (UK)

    –  South Yorkshire Pensions Authority (UK)

    –  Strathclyde Pension Fund (UK)


Public Pension Scheme Above €15 Billion

    –  ATP (DK)

    –  PPF (UK)

    –  VER (FI)

    –  Norway Government Pension Fund -Global (NO)


CIO/Investment Head of the Year

    –  Hendrik Gade Jepsen – CIO, ATP (DK)

    –  Chetan Ghosh – CIO, Centrica (UK)

    –  Penny Green – CEO, Saul Trustee Company (UK)

    –  Susanne Haury von Siebenthal – Head of Asset Management/Deputy CEO, Swiss Federal Pension Fund PUBLICA (CH)

    –  Dame Jane Newell OBE – Chair, John Lewis Partnership Pensions Trust (UK)

    –  Mike Taylor – CEO, LPFA (UK)

    –  Japp van Damm – Managing Director for Strategy, PGGM (NL)