Eighth Annual Industry Innovation Awards: Nominations Open

Nominations for innovative and talented asset owners and managers/servicers open until Aug. 4. 

It’s time again to nominate and celebrate the industry’s most innovative asset owners and managers/servicers. CIO’s eighth annual Industry Innovation Awards will take place December 7 at the New York Public Library, celebrating the most innovative and talented players of institutional investing.

Please nominate asset owners and managers/servicers for this year’s awards.   Nominations will close on Friday, August 4, and all finalists will be announced in early September.

This year, the CIO editorial team will consult an advisory board of CIOs, including Jagdeep Bachher of University of California Office of the President, Tim Barrett of Texas Tech University System, Robert Hunkeler of International Paper, Jacque Millard of Intermountain Healthcare, and Mark Schmid of the University of Chicago.

The lifetime achievement award, which Schmid won last year,  will be presented at the dinner. An overall winner from the asset-owner categories will also be chosen and awarded CIO of the Year (presented last year to Barrett).

Our Next Generation Award is chosen the evening of the awards dinner, following a  panel at the CIO Influential Investors’ Forum.

This year’s asset owner categories include (2016 winners in parentheses): 

Foundation (University of Arizona Foundation, Craig Barker)

Endowment (Texas Tech University System, Tim Barrett)

Corporate Defined Benefit Pension Plan Below $5 Billion (Blue Cross Blue Shield Association, Jamey Sharpe)

Corporate Defined Benefit Pension Plan Above $5 Billion (International Paper, Robert Hunkeler) 

Public Defined Benefit Plan Below $15 Billion (MoDOT and Patrol Employees’ Retirement System, Larry Krummen)

Public Defined Benefit Plan Between $15 Billion and $100 Billion (Pennsylvania Public School Employees’ Retirement System, Jim Grossman)

Public Defined Benefit Plan Above $100 Billion (State of Wisconsin Investment Board, David Villa) 

Sovereign Wealth Fund (which wasn’t a category last year)

Healthcare Organization (Intermountain Healthcare, Jacque Millard) 

Defined Contribution Plan (American Airlines, Ken Menezes) 

Next Generation (UPS, Greg Spick) 

Consulting (Aksia, Jim Vos).

Asset management categories include (2016 winners in parentheses; italics indicate altered category): 

Fixed Income (BlackRock)

Equities (including alternative equity beta) (Parametric)

Multi-Asset (including risk-balanced strategies) (Risk Premium Investment Management Company)

Private Equity (Blackstone)

Hedge Funds (Marshall Wace)

Real Assets (Pantheon)

Defined Contribution Strategies (NISA Investment Advisors)

Investment Outsourcing (Goldman Sachs Asset Management)

Corporate Investment Strategies (Nuveen)

Corporate Liability Strategies (Prudential)

Transition Management (Macquarie)

Data & Technology (Solovis)

**New 2017 Category: ESG Investing

Let us know who inspires you in this industry, and why. The nomination form can be found here: https://www.research.net/r/2017IIANominations.

Tags: , ,