CIO Innovation Awards: Nominations Open

Nominate your best asset owners and managers for this years 10th annual bash.

For 10 years, CIO has honored the accomplishments of you, the chief investment officers, with our Industry Innovation Awards

On Thursday, December 12, at the New York Public Library, CIO will once again bring together institutional investors and those who provide for them.

It’s time to nominate deserving asset owners and asset managers/servicers for this year’s awards.

Since we started these awards in 2010, “innovation” has perhaps become an overused buzzword. While others may confuse innovation with change, we do not: Our goal is to highlight the truly innovative approaches to asset management and asset owning, separating the merely different from the meaningful. 

For example, our 2018/2019 Innovation winner of the Defined Contribution Plan category, Bob Hunkeler (CIO of International Paper), became an early adopter of brokerage windows and led his company to become one of the first plans in the country to have a fully unbundled plan with independently awarded investment management, recordkeeping, and custody assignments. Despite the rising tide of indexation, Hunkeler is a firm believer in active management in both the pension and savings plan, which he claims has added hundreds of millions of dollars of value to the plans over the years. Now, the plan offers a nearly limitless choice of investments with a three-tiered investment lineup of balanced funds, asset class funds, and a brokerage window, a state-of-the art recordkeeping platform at about one-fifth of the cost, a number of participant-friendly plan design features, and a customized communications program.

When nominating, ask yourselves, who has done something that is truly different, and that may have changed the way we think about this business?

What You’ll Need:

To make a nomination, you’ll be asked whether you’re nominating an asset owner or asset manager, the name and title of the person or entity you’re nominating, their location, email address and to choose which category they fall into.

The asset owner CIO categories fall into plan size and type, as well as special categories for ESG and Collaboration. You can make more than one nomination, and you’ll do this by indicating if you’re done or ready to nominate another. Please feel free to make as many nominations as you’d like. 


a) Finalists for both asset owners and asset managers/servicers will be announced in early September.

  1. b) The finalists and winners will be chosen by the CIOeditorial team in conjunction with an Advisory Board of former and current CIOs. Some categories (such as investment outsourcing, transition management, and corporate investment strategies) will be judged largely on data collected via the CIOsurvey system.
  2. c) The overall “CIO of the Year” award—given last year to Chris Ailman, chief investment officer of the California State Teachers’ Retirement System—will be announced at the dinner, and will be drawn from the winners of the asset owner categories.

  3. d) The Lifetime Achievement award, which Mansco Perry, executive director and CIO of the Minnesota State Board of Investment, won last year, will be presented at the dinner. 

Our Next Generation Award is chosen the evening of the awards dinner, following a hotseat panel and audience poll at the CIO Influential Investors’ Forum.

To nominate, please follow the survey directions here.

Below is a list of CIO’s past Industry Innovation Award winners in their respective categories:


Helmsley Charitable Trust / Rosalind Hewsenian (2018)

Carnegie Corp. / Kim Lew (2017)

University of Arizona Foundation, Craig Barker (2016)

Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Carrie Thome (2015)

Margaret A. Cargill Philanthropies, Shawn Wischmeier (2014)

The Kresge Foundation, Robert Manilla (2013)

Conrad N. Hilton Foundation (2012)



Hamilton College, Anne Dinneen (2018)

Church of England, Tom Joy (2017)

Texas Teachers University, Tim Barrett (2016)

UCal, Jagdeep Bachher (2015)

University of Chicago, Mark Schmidt (2014)

UTIMCO, Bruce Zimmerman (2013)

University of Notre Dame (2012)


Corp Defined Benefit Under $5bn (2014: under $10bn)

Eli Lilly, Susan Ridlen (2018)

Computer Sciences Corp., Brian Reed (2017)

Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Jamey Sharpe (2016)

Textron, Charles Van Vleet (2015)

DTE Energy, Paul Cavazos (2014)

General Mills, Marie Pillai (2013)

Xerox (2012)


Corporate Defined Benefit Over $5bn (2014: over $10bn)

IBM, Harshal Chaudhari (2018)

ABB, Elizabeth Bourqui (2017)

International Paper, Robert Hunkeler (2016)

Alcoa, Ron Barin (2015)

BP America, Greg Williamson (2014)

UPS, Brian Pellegrino (2013)

United Technologies (2012)

Public Defined Benefit Under $15bn

Wyoming Retirement System, Sam Masoudi (2018)

South Dakota, Matthew Clark  (2017)

MoDOT, Larry Krummen (2016)

OCERS, Girard Miller (2015)

Sacramento ERS, Scott Chan (2014)

San Bernardino County Employees’ Retirement Association (2013)


Public Defined Benefit Between $15bn-100bn 

LACERA, Jonathan Grabel (2018)

Hawaii ERS, Vijoy Chattergy (2017)

Pa PSERS, Jim Grossman (2016)

Mass PRIM, Michael Trotsky (2015)

TRS Illinois, Stan Rupnik (2014)

Employees’ Retirement System of Texas, Tom Tull  (2013)

Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (2012)


Public Defined Benefit Over $100bn

CalSTRS, Chris Ailman (2018)

NYC Retirement, Scott Evans (2017)

SWIB, David Villa (2016)

CalPERS, Ted Eliopoulos (2015)

OTPP, Neil Petroff (2014)

CalSTRS, Christopher Ailman (2013)


Sovereign Wealth Fund

Texas Treasury Safekeeping Trust Co., Paul Ballard (2018)

Australia Future Fund, Raphael Arndt (2017)

APFC, Jay Willoughby (former) & Jim Parise (interim) (2015)

NMSIC, Robert Vince Smith (2014

GIC Singapore, Lim Chow Kiat (2013)

New Zealand Superannuation Fund (2012)


Mercy Health, St. Louis, Anthony Waskiewicz (2018)

Hartford HealthCare, David Holmgren (2017)

Intermountain Healthcare, Jacque Millard (2016)

Baylor Scott and White, Mark Amiri (2015)

Ohio Health, Al Nelson (2014)

The UAW Retiree Medical Benefits Trust, Ken Frier (2013)

Ascension Health Alliance (2012)


Defined Contribution

International Paper, Bob Hunkeler (2018)

Fiat Chrysler, Bob Watson (2017)

American Airlines, Kevin Menezes (2016)

Exelon, Doug Brown (2015)

CenturyLink Investment Management, Kathleen Lutito (2014)

United Technologies Corp. (UTC), Robin Diamonte (2013)

Next Generation

Chad Mhyre, Missouri (2018)

Carlos Rangel, Kellogg (2017)

Greg Spick, UPS (2016)

Randy Kim, Conrad Hilton Foundation (2014)


Allan Martin, NEPC (2018)

Rich Nuzum, Mercer (2017)

Jim Vos, Aksia (2016)

Eugene Podkaminer, Callan Associates (2014)

Lifetime Achievement

Mansco Perry III, Minnesota State Board of Investment (2018)

Ashbel Williams, Florida SBA (2017)

Mark Schmid, University of Chicago Endowment (2016)

Scott Malpass, University of Notre Dame (2014)

Britt Harris, Teacher Retirement System of Texas (2013)


Dan Chu (Sierra Club) (2018)

Jagdeep Bachher, UCal (2017)


David Holmgren, Hartford HealthCare (2018)


Tags: , , , , , , ,