Industry Innovation Awards

| New York Public Library

Since we started these awards in 2010, ‘innovation’ has perhaps become an overused buzzword. While others may confuse innovation with change, we do not: Our goal since the beginning has been to highlight the truly innovative approaches to asset owning and asset management, separating the merely different from the meaningful. As a result, over the past seven years we’ve honored an ever-growing list of the world’s most innovative thinkers on both sides of the business.

The eighth annual Innovation gala will once again be held at the New York Public Library. Input for the nominations included asset owners who in aggregate, represent more than $1.2 trillion in assets under management. Finalists and winners are chosen by the CIO editorial team in conjunction with an Advisory Board of CIOs. This year’s advisors include Jagdeep Bachher of University of California, Tim Barrett of Texas Tech University System, Robert Hunkeler of International Paper, Jacque Millard of Intermountain Healthcare,  Mark Schmid of the University of Chicago and Robert “Vince” Smith of the New Mexico State Investment Council.

Registration and cocktails will begin at 6:30 p.m. in Astor Hall with dinner immediately following at 7:30 p.m. in the Celeste Bartos Forum.

2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

  • Ash Williams

    Chief Investment Officer and Executive Director, Florida State Board of Administration (SBA)

    Ash Williams, chief investment officer and executive director of the Florida State Board of Administration (SBA), has been selected to receive the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award from Chief Investment Officer at the eighth annual Industry Innovation Awards gala on December 7 in New York City.

    Past winners include Notre Dame’s Scott Malpass; the University of Texas Investment Management Co.’s Britt Harris; Rick Dahl, the newly retired CIO of the Missouri State Employees’ Retirement System; Strategic Investment Group’s Hilda Ochoa-Brillembourg; and NISA Investment Advisors’ Jess Yawitz and Bill Marshall. Last year, the title was awarded to Mark Schmid, CIO of the University of Chicago endowment. For more details click here.

  • New Awards Category - Spotlight on ESG Investing!

    As sustainable investing or the consideration of environmental, social and governance (“ESG”) factors increasingly become part of asset owner’s investment frameworks and lexicon, Chief Investment Officer is introducing a new award category for the asset owner and manager who have embraced an ESG strategy throughout their investment process. Our goal is to award those who have incorporated sustainable factors in any number of innovative ways including but not limited to manager assessments (across asset classes), shareholder engagement and/or any deliberate strategy in addressing ESG risks.

We hope you can join us.

To request an invitation to attend (asset owners), contact Carol Popkins at  To learn more about hosting a table or sponsoring the event (asset managers), please contact Mike Garity at

Influential Investors Forum

December 7, 2017
Harvard Club

Contact Information

Sponsorship Information

Rob Reif (212) 217-6906

General Information

Carol Popkins (203) 461-0985